We have found that many people close out Quickbooks incorrectly by using the X in the upper right-hand corner instead of going to the File menu, and selecting on Close Company. Once done, go back to the File menu, then select Exit.

 

Both methods will close Quickbooks, but clicking on the X Leaves QuickBooks open, leaving you vulnerable to data file corruption. Should your network connection go down and QuickBooks assumes you are still connected, problems with the data file will begin to appear.

 

It’s a simple practice to get into and will save you countless hours and dollars, by taking these few extra steps of going to the File menu, and selecting on Close Company. Once done, go back to the File menu, then select Exit.

It’s also a good idea to ensure that you always have a good backup and your Computer, Switches and Servers are all connected to working UPS Battery Backups. This will help ensure that you don’t lose connection with your database when there is a power outage or fluctuation